With each new edition of the race, I remain impressed with the findings and the quality of the event. In fact, this year, nothing but praise for the Northman. In my opinion, it is one of the most beautiful obstacle courses in Canada. For several reasons. The first, it is authentic and original. There are no races like this one. Completely reinvented and designed by an outstanding athlete, Olympian and rooted in the greatest sporting spirit that can exist. Secondly, it is an event that offers courses that maximize trail running, obstacles and nature. It's so beautiful that sometimes you want to stop and contemplate it (not a good idea in a race).

With each new edition of the race, I remain impressed with the findings and the quality of the event. In fact, this year, nothing but praise for the Northman. In my opinion, it is one of the most beautiful obstacle courses in Canada. For several reasons. The first, it is authentic and original. There are no races like this one. Completely reinvented and designed by an outstanding athlete, Olympian and rooted in the greatest sporting spirit that can exist. Secondly, it is an event that offers courses that maximize running, obstacles and nature. It's so beautiful that sometimes you want to stop and contemplate it (not a good idea in a lol race).

Third, the race is for everyone. In the afternoon, it is the OPEN category that allows EVERYONE to run without pressure. There is even a parent/child component. The goal is simply to have FUN! The obstacles are accessible, original and varied. It's the perfect activity for family or friends! In the morning, there are two competitive parts. NorthMan Marathon is the endurance category. It is a challenge to see how far one can go in a 6 hours period. There’s an extra challenge every lap to shake even the best athletes! The Loggers are the competitive category that races for time.

Third, the race is for everyone. In the morning, it is the OPEN category that allows EVERYONE to run without a stopwatch. There is even a parent/child component. The goal is simply to have FUN! The obstacles are accessible, trippy and varied. It's the perfect activity for family or friends! In the afternoon, there are two competitive parts. TIMBER is the highest category. To participate, you must have been ranked according to your results in LOGGER or demonstrate, with proof, that you are qualified for the OCR World Championships or that you are an active Olympian.

NorthMan is the one and only time trial in OCR! You are always in a pursuit to catch the next racer. The Logger starts are cool.. Each participant leaves individually, one behind the other, with 10 seconds of interval. The time starts as soon as the runner crosses the timing mat. He goes after his predecessor... and will in turn be pursued by an athlete who is better ranked than him. The YELLOW jersey (yes, he wears a yellow jersey) is the one that starts last and leads the Northman ranking. He's the favorite of the race. He's chasing everyone. Each time he catches up with a participant, he has gained 15 seconds ahead of his time. If a participant is caught up, he knows that he has lost at least one place in the ranking. Adrenaline, you say!

Time trial starts in pursuit that increase the adrenaline in the carpet. The TIMBER departures are completely crazy. Each participant leaves individually, one behind the other, with 15 seconds of intervals. The start is counted as soon as the runner crosses the timing mat. He goes after his predecessor... and will in turn be pursued by an athlete who is better ranked than him. The YELLOW jersey (yes, he wears a yellow jersey) is the one that starts last and leads the Northman Championship. He's the favorite of the race. He's chasing everyone. Each time he catches up with a participant, he has gained 15 seconds ahead of his time. If a participant is caught up, he knows that he has lost at least one place in the ranking. Adrenaline, you say!

The competitive component, in which EVERYONE can participate, will crown champions by age group. "The Northman" Marco Bédard has reinvented the way of a ocr race. He does not copy obstacles! He wants to make every one of them have a meaning. There is always at least 3 SIGNATURES obstacles that have made the reputation of this race. The "Cabane à Moineau", which is an obstacle in collaboration with PlatinumRig. « La Gaffe du Draveur » , a technical obstacle that has gained a reputation at the OCR World Championships. And finally, the axe throw. The little one or the big one. The choice is yours.

Once the departure of the TIMBERs has started, it is the departure of the LOGGERs. It is the competitive component, in which EVERYONE can participate, without scholarships, that will appoint champions by age group. The same principle applies as the TIMBERs, however the departures are two by two and not individual. Northman Marco Bédard has reinvented the race. He invented new obstacles. I can name 3 SIGNATURES obstacles that have made the reputation of this year's race. The Cabane à Moineau, which is an obstacle in collaboration with PlatinumRig Dom. The Driver's Booty, a technical obstacle that was put forward at the OCR World Championships. And finally, the famous axe throw. The little one or the big one. The choice is yours.

As these 3 obstacles are completely new, a concept of credits and penalties has also been introduced. Once you have finished your race, do not rely on your temporary ranking because some athletes may have passed « HARD LANE » obstacles that have saved them time credits that will be deducted from their final time. And now I see you already in your head expressing yourself, that's so sick! But, wait, here's the best part

As these 3 obstacles are completely new, a concept of credits and penalties has also been introduced. Once you have finished your race, do not rely on your temporary ranking because some athletes may have passed PROOF tests that have saved them time credits that will be deducted from their final time. And now I see you already in your head expressing yourself, that's why so sick! But, wait, here's the best of the best.

The Northman had the idea of splitting the course into 3 sections to allow athletes with different skills to stand out. The SPEED section, the STRENGTH secion and the AGILITY section. Timing mats are installed in between these, which allows us to know which athletes are the best performers in each one. The course has been designed so that the STRENGTH section will contain the majority of obstacles and challenges requiring STRENGTH. The SPEED section uses single track trails a lot. Finally, AGILITY, you’ll find obstacles that requires balance and dexterity. Each of those champions will win a prize and will be on the podium for that purpose.

The Northman had the idea of splitting the course into 3 sections to allow athletes with different skills to stand out. The SPEED sector, the STRENGTH sector and the AGILITY sector. Timing mats are installed in different sectors, which allows us to know which athletes are the best performers in each sector. The course has been designed so that the FORCE sector will contain the majority of obstacles and challenges requiring force. The SPEED sector uses the trails a lot. Finally, AGILITY, we find the obstacles of balance and dexterity. Each of the sector champions will win a prize and will be on the podium for that purpose.

I am proud of Marc-André Bédard "the Northman". I am proud of the JustRun team from Quebec who are working in the background on this fabulous project. I am proud of the Northman Race team. Be proud of your roots. This year, you will experience emotions like never before!

I'm a Northman.
This year, I honor my name.

I am proud of Marc-André Bédard "the Northman". I am proud of the JustRun team from Quebec who are working in the background on this fabulous project. I am proud of the Northman Race team. Be proud of your roots. This year, you will experience emotions like never before!

I'm a Northman.
This year, I honor my name.

À chaque nouvelle édition de course, je reste impressionné des trouvailles et de la qualité de l'événement. D'ailleurs, cette année, que des éloges pour la Northman. Selon moi, c'est l'une des plus belles courses à obstacles au Canada. Pour plusieurs raisons. La première, elle est authentique et originale. Il n'existe pas de courses comme celle-ci. Complètement réinventée et dessinée par un athlète hors norme, olympien et enraciné dans le plus grand esprit sportif qui peut exister. Deuxièmement, c'est un événement qui propose des parcours maximisant la course, les obstacles et la nature. C'est tellement beau que parfois, on a le goût de s'arrêter pour la contempler (pas une bonne idée dans une course lol).

À chaque nouvelle édition de course, je reste impressionné des trouvailles et de la qualité de l'événement. D'ailleurs, cette année, que des éloges pour la Northman. Selon moi, c'est l'une des plus belles courses à obstacles au Canada. Pour plusieurs raisons. La première, elle est authentique et originale. Il n'existe pas de courses comme celle-ci. Complètement réinventée et dessinée par un athlète hors norme, olympien et enraciné dans le plus grand esprit sportif qui peut exister. Deuxièmement, c'est un événement qui propose des parcours maximisant la course, les obstacles et la nature. C'est tellement beau que parfois, on a le goût de s'arrêter pour la contempler (pas une bonne idée dans une course lol).

Troisièmement, la course s'adresse à tout le monde. Le matin, c'est la catégorie OPEN qui permet à TOUT le monde de courir sans chronomètre. Il y a même un volet parent/enfant. L’objectif est tout simplement de S’AMUSER! Les obstacles sont accessibles, trippants et variés. C’est l’activité parfaite en famille ou entre amis! L'après-midi, il y a deux volets compétitifs. TIMBER est la catégorie la plus relevée. Pour y participer, tu dois avoir été classé selon tes résultats dans LOGGER ou encore, démontrer, preuve à l'appui, que tu es qualifié pour les championnats du monde OCR ou encore, que tu es un olympien actif.

Troisièmement, la course s'adresse à tout le monde. Le matin, c'est la catégorie OPEN qui permet à TOUT le monde de courir sans chronomètre. Il y a même un volet parent/enfant. L’objectif est tout simplement de S’AMUSER! Les obstacles sont accessibles, trippants et variés. C’est l’activité parfaite en famille ou entre amis! L'après-midi, il y a deux volets compétitifs. TIMBER est la catégorie la plus relevée. Pour y participer, tu dois avoir été classé selon tes résultats dans LOGGER ou encore, démontrer, preuve à l'appui, que tu es qualifié pour les championnats du monde OCR ou encore, que tu es un olympien actif.

Des départs contre la montre en poursuite qui montent l'adrénaline dans le tapis. Les départs TIMBER sont complètement fous. Chaque participant part individuellement, l’un en arrière de l'autre, avec 15 secondes d'intervalles. Le départ est compté au moment que le coureur traverse le tapis de chronométrage. Il part à la poursuite de son prédécesseur... et se fera poursuivre à son tour par un athlète mieux classé que lui. Le maillot JAUNE (oui, il porte un maillot jaune) est celui qui part le dernier et meneur au Championnat Northman. C'est le favori de la course. Il poursuit tout le monde. Chaque fois qu'il rattrape un participant, il a gagné 15 secondes d'avance sur son temps. Si un participant se fait rattraper, il sait qu'il a perdu au minimum une place au classement. De l'adrénaline vous dites!

Des départs contre la montre en poursuite qui montent l'adrénaline dans le tapis. Les départs TIMBER sont complètement fous. Chaque participant part individuellement, l’un en arrière de l'autre, avec 15 secondes d'intervalles. Le départ est compté au moment que le coureur traverse le tapis de chronométrage. Il part à la poursuite de son prédécesseur... et se fera poursuivre à son tour par un athlète mieux classé que lui. Le maillot JAUNE (oui, il porte un maillot jaune) est celui qui part le dernier et meneur au Championnat Northman. C'est le favori de la course. Il poursuit tout le monde. Chaque fois qu'il rattrape un participant, il a gagné 15 secondes d'avance sur son temps. Si un participant se fait rattraper, il sait qu'il a perdu au minimum une place au classement. De l'adrénaline vous dites!

Une fois le départ des TIMBER lancé, c'est le départ des LOGGER. C'est le volet compétitif, auquel TOUT LE MONDE peut participer, sans bourses, qui va nommer des champions par groupe d'âge. Le même principe s'applique que les TIMBER, cependant les départs sont deux par deux et non pas individuels. Le Northman Marco Bédard a réinventé la course. Il a inventé de nouveaux obstacles. Je peux nommer 3 obstacles SIGNATURES qui ont fait la réputation cette année de la course. La Cabane à Moineau, qui est un obstacle en collaboration avec PlatinumRig Dom. La Gaffe du Draveur, un obstacle technique qui a été mis de l’avant au Championnats du Monde OCR. Et enfin, le fameux lancer de la hache. La petite ou la grande. À vous de choisir.

Une fois le départ des TIMBER lancé, c'est le départ des LOGGER. C'est le volet compétitif, auquel TOUT LE MONDE peut participer, sans bourses, qui va nommer des champions par groupe d'âge. Le même principe s'applique que les TIMBER, cependant les départs sont deux par deux et non pas individuels. Le Northman Marco Bédard a réinventé la course. Il a inventé de nouveaux obstacles. Je peux nommer 3 obstacles SIGNATURES qui ont fait la réputation cette année de la course. La Cabane à Moineau, qui est un obstacle en collaboration avec PlatinumRig Dom. La Gaffe du Draveur, un obstacle technique qui a été mis de l’avant au Championnats du Monde OCR. Et enfin, le fameux lancer de la hache. La petite ou la grande. À vous de choisir.

Déjà que ces 3 obstacles sont complètement nouveaux, un concept de crédits et pénalités a également été introduit. Une fois que vous avez terminé votre course, ne vous fiez pas à votre classement temporaire parce que certains athlètes ont peut-être réussi des ÉPREUVES qui leur ont fait gagner des CRÉDITS de temps qui seront enlevés de leur temps de chrono final. Et, là, je vous vois déjà dans votre tête vous exprimer, c'est dont ben malade! Mais, attendez, voici la crème de la crème.

Déjà que ces 3 obstacles sont complètement nouveaux, un concept de crédits et pénalités a également été introduit. Une fois que vous avez terminé votre course, ne vous fiez pas à votre classement temporaire parce que certains athlètes ont peut-être réussi des ÉPREUVES qui leur ont fait gagner des CRÉDITS de temps qui seront enlevés de leur temps de chrono final. Et, là, je vous vois déjà dans votre tête vous exprimer, c'est dont ben malade! Mais, attendez, voici la crème de la crème.

Le Northman a eu l'idée de scinder le parcours en 3 sections pour permettre aux athlètes qui ont des habiletés différentes de se démarquer. Le secteur VITESSE, le secteur FORCE et le secteur AGILITÉ. Des tapis de chronométrage sont installés à différents secteurs ce qui nous permet de savoir quels sont les athlètes les plus performants dans chacun des secteurs. Le parcours a été conçu de sorte que le secteur FORCE contiendra la majorité des obstacles et épreuves nécessitant de la force. Le secteur VITESSE utilise beaucoup les sentiers. Enfin, AGILITÉ, on y retrouve les obstacles d'équilibre et de dextérité. Chacun des champions des secteurs se méritera un prix et se retrouvera sur le podium à cet effet.

Le Northman a eu l'idée de scinder le parcours en 3 sections pour permettre aux athlètes qui ont des habiletés différentes de se démarquer. Le secteur VITESSE, le secteur FORCE et le secteur AGILITÉ. Des tapis de chronométrage sont installés à différents secteurs ce qui nous permet de savoir quels sont les athlètes les plus performants dans chacun des secteurs. Le parcours a été conçu de sorte que le secteur FORCE contiendra la majorité des obstacles et épreuves nécessitant de la force. Le secteur VITESSE utilise beaucoup les sentiers. Enfin, AGILITÉ, on y retrouve les obstacles d'équilibre et de dextérité. Chacun des champions des secteurs se méritera un prix et se retrouvera sur le podium à cet effet.

Je suis fier de Marc-André Bédard « the Northman ». Je suis fier de l'équipe québécoise JustRun qui travaille en arrière-plan de ce fabuleux projet. Je suis fier de l'équipe Northman Race, Benjamin Morin Boucher, Nancy Bourassa, Gaby Anne Désy, Damien Langlois-Verret, Sylvain Dion, Anne Champagne. Soyez fiers de vos racines. Cette année, vous allez vivre des émotions comme jamais auparavant! Adrénaline, dépassement et plaisir, c’est garanti !

Je suis un Northman.
Cette année, j’honore mon nom.

Je suis fier de Marc-André Bédard « the Northman ». Je suis fier de l'équipe québécoise JustRun qui travaille en arrière-plan de ce fabuleux projet. Je suis fier de l'équipe Northman Race, Benjamin Morin Boucher, Nancy Bourassa, Gaby Anne Désy, Damien Langlois-Verret, Sylvain Dion, Anne Champagne. Soyez fiers de vos racines. Cette année, vous allez vivre des émotions comme jamais auparavant! Adrénaline, dépassement et plaisir, c’est garanti !

Je suis un Northman.
Cette année, j’honore mon nom.